Halakhic texts relating to this article | |
---|---|
Torah: | Leviticus 11:22 |
Mishnah: | Hullin 3:7 |
Babylonian Talmud: | Hullin 65a-66b and Avodah Zarah 37a |
Shulchan Aruch: | Yoreh De'ah 85 |
Other rabbinic codes: | Exodus Rabbah 13:7 |
Kosher locusts are varieties of locust deemed permissible for consumption under the laws of kashrut (Jewish dietary law). While the consumption of most insects is forbidden under the laws of kashrut, the rabbis of the Talmud identified eight kosher species of locust. However, the identity of those species is in dispute.[1] The Jewish communities of Yemen and parts of northern Africa, until their emigration in the mid-20th century (and afterwards in Israel), ate locusts which according to their tradition are kosher.[2]